Join POMS Renew Membership Update Profile Contact Us

College of Operational Excellence

Please plan to join us for the Operational Excellence College mini-conference on April 23rd in Minneapolis. We are planning an off-site tour, some great speakers, and a dinner event. Please see the schedule below for the Operational Excellence Mini-Conference.
Click here for details

Tour of 3M Innovation Center (Limited to 25 persons)

If you wish to take part in the 3M tour, please first register for the mini-conference at the POMS conference site and then register for the tour at:

The Operational Excellence College of POMS is sponsoring a best paper competition to recognize outstanding research in the field of operational excellence. This serves as an announcement for this award, with entries due Jan. 15, 2020.

The author(s) of the best paper will receive an award plaque and honorarium of $1000. Up to three Honorable Mentions may also be awarded depending on the number of qualified submissions. All finalists will be notified prior to the POMS Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, MN, April 23 - 27, 2020. The awards will be announced after up to 4 finalists present their work at the POMS meeting.

Click here for details

The College of Operational Excellence is a special interest group of POMS that seeks to create a community for researchers pursuing operational excellence philosophies, paradigms, principles, systems, and techniques (e.g. TQM, JIT, Lean, Six Sigma, Continuous Improvement, Quality Assurance, Theory of Constraints, Agile among others). The college embraces the full spectrum of research paradigms including modeling, empirical and field-based work and facilitates close interaction between academics and practitioners through focused conferences.

Click here for Bylaws

Board Members 2019:

President: Morgan Swink, TCU
VP Outreach: Vidyaranya Gargeya, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
VP Meetings: Gopesh Anand, University of Illinois
Secretary and VP Finance: Torbjørn Netland, ETH Zürich, CH
VP Awards: Carolyn (Carrie) Queenan, University of South Carolina

Advisory Committee:

Peter Ward, Fisher College of Business, The Ohio State University
Morgan Swink, Neeley Business School, Texas Christian University
Eric O. Olsen, Orfalea College of Business, California Polytechnic
John Shook, CEO, Lean Enterprise Institute (tentative)
Rachna Shah, Carslon School of Management, University of Minnesota

Continue reading "Board Members" »

Continue reading "Past Events" »

Movable Type Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux